Urban landscape of a concrete jungle

So what is the urban landscape of a concrete jungle? It’s the city in rough translation. Some of us loves it, some of us hates it, but let’s admit it, that’s the crosspoint of the roads where no doubt we can find all our needs. So here is my vision in my art journal page over cities (no specific, you may choose):

So as usual I was beginning to work up my scrap hills, so the first step was a collage, blended with gesso.

Next I smudged a bit with inka gold, just because I wanted to have some metal shine, but no certain shape or pattern. I used Ronda’s city stencil to add the lines of the city underneath with molding paste and above the shadows of the city with graphite texture paste. I wanted to have some shade so I added some dark tint of Bristle by the sides. Then To colorize I used Lindy’s stamp gang sprays (bachelor button blue and orange creamsicle). I stamped with archival ink to add some more texture (graffiti stamp).

Here is a close up of my graffiti and the shadows of the city.

I found a postcard of a metropolitan, pretty faded, who knows what it was going through, but definitely urbanized in all means by the postal services. I added some metal embellishments (they come from my sunday market findings).

And finally my title stamping with black archival ink:

Hope you won’t get lost in a concrete jungle, and you will find some time to enjoy the urban landscape (as it has sort of a beauty) in the running life.

I am sharing my spread with Journal 52 prompt in the city.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Urban landscape of a concrete jungle

  1. zksmith says:

    This is fantastic Ruth! I really like this!

  2. The page breaths city, to me a big American city.
    And your city in texture paste is so crisp, beautiful.

    • lerusho says:

      Vicky pick your city, on purpose I didn’t want any specific name tagged on it, but well I am not a fan of those great glass/concrete monsters, no matter where they stand 🙂 but sometimes we need to get there, for one good reason at least, psst don’t let anyone know, but to get some artsy supply 😉

  3. Susan Carol says:

    As always, wonderful! Really love the city scape texture, its awesome. You’re right, we might hate it but sometimes its got things we need 🙂

  4. kampysgirl says:

    Great piece Ruth! I love the layers you built up…they really pulled together some of the other elements and stenciled parts- great work my friend! xoxo

  5. mrsbeez says:

    Fabulous page – full of atmosphere and you have captured that dark side/ light side thing that all cities seem to have. I particularly like the paste through the stencil. I think I must be a bit unusual as quite like the city vibe and still miss London, I get a huge buzz when I return.

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette, I live now in a smaller city, I grew up in a metropolitan, I miss sometimes the rushing and buzzing, but on the other hand I can enjoy that cozy feeling 🙂 it may come with the age…

  6. Wonderful page. Love colors and textures.

  7. Love the grunge look you’ve achieved for your urban jungle. Fantastic work as always, Ruth!

  8. Terry says:

    For the most part, I’m not a lover of cities, but I love everything about this! It also inspires me to use some early 1900’s postcards of Richmond, Va where my grandparents lived, and now my grown children call it home. I can see how one or two of these might make their way out of the shoebox and into my art journals in a meaningful way.

    Beautifully done! Thank you.
    Terry

    • lerusho says:

      Terry, I love vintage postcards, my findings are coming also from shoeboxes, but mostly from others attic, for them it’s garbage for me it’s treasure, and it’s so much fun to give a second life to those things 😉

Leave a Reply

