Steampunktember art journal

Today I am dancing a happy dance. I have two reasons, one that I can share with you right away, and one that you need to wait for. The first one is that I opened my new art journal, and that one is made from handmade paper, so I was pretty afraid how is it going to react, but no matter how heavy I went on it, it took all my rough treatment. And as the Challenge no 39 at Anything But a Card challenge is all about steampunk: Happy Steampunktember everyone!

Well I didn’t do anything special with this spread I just steampunked it. Stay with me and you can see how. First I made a collage from cogs and a clock (Sizzix gadget gears and weathered clock). I added some shadows with red chalk and blended all with gesso.

I had that thread hanging around my table so I decided if it’s there, it’s asking for coming to my spread, and here it went.

Of course I am in love with textures, all kinds of texture and I just had to add some metal effect, something full of textures, so I mixed black sand texture paste with copper acrylics and applied through a metal stencil. I also applied some more masking with soft gel, I don’t know if you can see it here, but it is there, you will sure see the grunge after coloring.

Now came the color layer, Lindy’s stamp gang (ponderosa pines olive and silent night silver). Now you can see the grunge with soft gel:

Next I was stamping on tissue paper with archival ink (Stampers Anonymous sets CMS 124 and SCF 006). Then I applied the tissue paper images on my spread with soft gel. As you can see the stamped image became transparent with the gel medium, but still created a textured layer.

Great technique, but it’s need to be air dried, so while it was drying I was playing with my sentiment. I used metal foil and round through embossing folders, then through dies. I altered my foil with black distress paint. Finally I added all my embellishments with self altered found objects.

And here there is one more small detail for you.

Don’t forget to visit Anything But a Card blog to see some great creations! Wishing everyone a fabulous and sun-filled week!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Steampunktember art journal

  1. Toni says:

    Hi Ruth… I just love your journal page… Isn’t it amazing how you can take something as simple as thread and it will transform your piece of art… ♥ it !

  2. zksmith says:

    Brilliant layout! Really loving this!

  3. Wonderful creation Ruth!
    Your metal foil and use of the thread are brilliant touches along with all of the great textures…
    oxo

  4. massofhair says:

    AMAZING page Ruth, love your thread area very much it adds loads of texture & depth:-) xxx

  5. kampysgirl says:

    Total gorgeousness Ruth! WOW-textures galore and steampunkery to behold!! Love it my friend! “) xoxo

  6. Susan Carol says:

    Genius, Ruth! Your texture is always awesome and really inspiring.

  7. Brenda says:

    Love your art journal

    Thanks for playing along at ABAC

  8. Di Hasthorpe says:

    This is a fabulous journal page. I love how you’ve shown a step-by-step… awesome! Fantastic results and I can see how easily these can be applied to other projects. Thank you for sharing at ABAC. Cheers, Di

  9. Pingback: Happy Steampunktember and DT announcement | lerusho

  10. Beautiful, I love the texture and intro to new techniques. This shall be a fun journey at ABAC!

Leave a Reply

