All the pretty flowers

Do you like using flowers in your projects? Me well! But sometimes when I am using “ready-made” florals I have the feeling like I was stealing it from the neighbor’s garden. I’d rather make my own, you know like a real gardener, who enjoys from seeding till blooming every moment. So when I have a bit of a time I love creating my own floral embellishments. This time I needed some original home deco’s, well to be precise table decorations.

So what do you think? Would you come to dine by me? If you would like to see how I created my decorations here we go. I had a quiet big piece of canvas from a thinner quality laying around and I thought this time it’s going to be perfect to use it. First I made some smaller pieces out of it and I stamped on it with archival ink (Tim Holtz CMS 123).

Than I colorized my pieces with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays (c’est la vie cerise, wild honeysuckle coral, pop rock purple, yellow rose of Texas and autumn maple crimson).

I was running my canvas pieces through my Big Shot with tattered floral die and assembled my flowers with some buttons. Here are the smaller ones:

And the bigger ones:

I colorized another piece from my canvas with bells of Ireland green and used my wood pattern stencil with distress ink on it (fried burlap).

While this dried as my paper towels were running out I took the paper roll of them and cut it for rings.

I took my wood patterned canvas and covered my rings with them.

Next I wanted to add my flowers for decoration, so on my napkin rings I added some ribbon decoration as leaves and my smaller tattered florals:

And on my bottle neck I added two big tattered florals (one at the front and one at the back) and by the sides I added some ribbons as leaf decoration.

And so I felt like a real gardener creating my own flowers.

Thanks for following my process. I am sharing my flower decorated rings with Craft hoarders anonymous challenge #15. Why don’t you jump over and get some flourish inspiration?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Home deco, Mixed media, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to All the pretty flowers

  1. kampysgirl says:

    Ruth, what a super idea!! well done! so glad you did steal from the neighbor’s garden!! teeheehee xo

  2. mrsbeez says:

    What a great idea and so pretty. You have also given me the perfect solution to a birthday present dilemma I have been struggling with – thank you! It’s funny you have the dilemma over homemade vs ready made flowers. I am often too lazy to make my own but when I do it’s always so worth the effort and I wonder why I don’t do it more often!

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette, happy that I could give you an idea, and well why I don’t do it more often is actually time, yeah easier to open the ready pack and pick one, than to sit down and create them, but if I have a bit of a time I choose for creating even my own embellishments. 🙂

  3. Fantastic. Loved seeing how you went about creating as well. Thanks for sharing with us at Craft Hoarders Anon 🙂

  4. Oh my ~ these are precious!

  5. Ruth your garden of lovely blooms are each precious and oh SO pretty!
    Thank you for sharing how you created them too…
    having dinner at your house is most certainly a special time ♥
    oxo
    p.s. and that bubbly looks very inviting too 🙂

  6. massofhair says:

    Fab idea and so much better when you have the time to create your own.

    Would be a pleasure to dine at your house, how many people these days actually take time to create such a special table 🙂 xxx

    • lerusho says:

      Well it’s really time nothing else, sometimes I also have fast tables with fast food, just because life is running, but actually I love giving the respect to my meal by cooking something special and then to my table with some decoration 😉

  7. smithgfb says:

    Such cute projects! Love those flowers! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  8. What a lovely table you will have with these beautiful bottles and napkin rings! So clever…when is the party? Thanks for joining Craft Hoarders Anonymous Challenge #15: All the Pretty Flowers!

  9. D Idlet says:

    Cute projects, very creative. Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  10. lostcoastscrapper1 says:

    Awesome idea..love this!!

  11. One of my favorite things is to stamp text and then make flowers from the paper! I did that for my project today! I love these and yes I’d come to dine! What are we having!!! Thanks for playing along with us at Craft Hoarders!

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Gloria, I had my dinner this weekend, but no trouble the coming is still free, so you can jump over, let me know what is your favorite and I’ll be creative 😉

Leave a Reply

