Refresh with singing birds

Karen gave us an interesting challenge this week at Stampotique Designers’ Challenge and it is to refresh a stamp that we didn’t use for a long time. I don’t know how it goes with you, but I keep my Stampotique stamps in two drawers and of course there are always some favorites, and some handy and the last one I used, and than there are some big one’s or older ones that slide behind. So here comes my newly discovered treasures from the back of my drawers:

Please give a big applause to the singing birds: TRA-LA-LA… I was listening to one of my favorite songs while creating so the journaling comes from the lyrics, it’s a Sinead O’Connor’s song, if you feel like listening to it, here is the link. So I had some scraps on my table like usually I thought I am going to begin with them.

Seemed an interesting collage piece, so I blended them into the background with gesso and then I colorized my spread with ecoline (sand yellow and vermillion).

And as I wanted the background color to come through my first newly discovered stamp (France Papillon’s Carousel) I stamped that with archival ink straight on my spread. But then I had Daniel Torrente’s Tree stamp there on the other hand didn’t really wanted my background, so I stamped it on an apart paper with distress ink (old mahogany) and glued two trimmed branches on my spread.

Now I had the perfect playground for my birdies. Next step was to stamp my birds (Birds up by Kira Nichols) with archival ink, as they are four in a raw I trimmed them one by one and let them sit in different places. I applied some shadows with charcoal to make my birds jump. Finally I added my text with black gel pen and tralala:

Oh yeah, and my edges were highlighted with the same old mahogany distress ink.

Thank you my birdies for the brilliant performance!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Refresh with singing birds

  1. JackieP Neal says:

    A brilliant performance indeed Ruth! Your birds look like they have lived on those perches all along!! xoxo

  2. Susan Carol says:

    Love your birdies, they are so cute. Great backround too.

  3. mrsbeez says:

    This is so much fun and I love it that we both did birds today! That carousel stamp is amazing – a definite must have.

    • lerusho says:

      I just thought about it when I saw your bird and mine were on the way I said oops, we sit on the same frequency… hehehe funny, oh yeah and the carousel is a must, definitely and soon new stamps are coming, they’ll be all must, oh that wish list never ends!

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    I love creating, then adding my pages to my Finnabair journal, Ruth! These are two wonderful pages to add to yours. I know what you mean about the bigger stamps (like the carousel) finding their way to the back of the drawer. So glad that you brought it forward and took these birdies for a spin. They are delightful both on the carousel and on their perches. A perfect combination of stamps for this week’s Stampotique Designers’ Challenge. Glad you are here!

  5. Ruth, my creative friend…take a bow! I love this spread! Those birds are tooooooo cute! Ok, Sinead O’Connor….WOW, there’s a name I haven’t heard in a long time! At least in the states that is! She may be still vibrant over the pond! I’m probably showing my age there..LOL!! This is just fabulous how it all came together from the pieces, to the carousel, to the birds! Love it! Now, I’m trucking on over and listening to that song you gave us a link to! You just continue to inspire me Ruth! Have a fabulous weekend! πŸ™‚

  6. zksmith says:

    I can tell you had lots of fun with this, Ruth! That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it?

  7. massofhair says:

    Blown away by your spread Ruth, REALLY loving your Carousel and birds stamps. Amazing pages, thank you for such fantastic inspiration!!! πŸ™‚ xxx

  8. shilpa says:

    Yes it is very interesting collage, love this page

  9. Paula says:

    Love this. Birds so cute background totally unique. Blends beautifully with the other spreads in your journal.

  10. dutchstamptramp says:

    Fabulous, love your bird pages very much! Thanks for joining us at the Stampotique DC

  11. kaz says:

    This is fabulous, just what I was wanting to see! Thanks for joining in with my challenge this week at Stampotique.

  12. Sue The Iron says:

    Oh I love this, beautiful colours and shading and it’s really cool to have your handwriting on too! Thanks so much for joining in with us this week at Stampotique. Sue xx

  13. This is wonderful Ruth, you clever lady you πŸ˜‰
    Thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique, have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

