On the road

Well today I have a special post for you. I know that I am usually working with thousands of layers, and a lot of textures, but I am on a road trip and I couldn’t carry my studio with me (would be nice but for that I need to hire a caravan… not sure it’s enough). So I limited myself to aquarelle’s, gel pen and a simple sketch book, so simple that it’s even falling apart.

There’s always a lot to see on the road, that’s why I like driving more then getting on an aircraft. On the highway, next to the highway there are so much to see, inspiring landscapes, hills, nature… far away hidden villages and cities. This time I would love to share a few sketches with you from my stop-by’s. I was always in love with the Black Forest in Germany, but this time of the year it’s amazing, I mean now you can really understand the name, I never saw such a deep and rich green flora than I had there. We had great luck, the perfect weather, not too hot, not too cool and not too rainy. We enjoyed summer showers with a gorgeous rainbows afterwards and real cloud sculptures, like someone would care for carving the most fabulous shapes from white and darker blue puffs.

So here we go:

Clouds

That’s one of my attempts to put on paper an amazing cloud sculpture, it’s not a river, it’s a cloud swimming in the middle of the sky.

Distant viaduct

That was by a stop among those hills, there was a distant viaduct, and the fabulous thing was in it that you couldn’t see the end of it, it was just seemingly running into a forest, of course it was a visual illusion, a viaduct that has no beginning or end, just hanging above a valley.

Sunset

At the evening by sunset I had a great view on a hill side, the way the sky turned yellowish orange in a stripe from the setting sun so did a part of that hill, the green flora in that hill mirrored the exact colors of the sun, it was just beautiful.

Windmills

We turned down the highway, just to stop by to visit a castle and on the road driving towards that tiny city (was hidden behind the hill) were those eco-windmills and from distance they seemed like huge flower petals turning around above all the trees. Had to have a reminder.

So that’s it for today. Hope I didn’t disappoint anyone with simple sketches only. I promise I got back to layers and textures the moment I am in my studio again. Wishing everyone a great weekend, and see you soon!

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Showcase and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to On the road

  1. massofhair says:

    Great pages, enjoy your travels 🙂 xxx

  2. Jackie P says:

    I love your simple sketches! Lovely to see what other art is created from Natures inspiration ! Ruth, thank you for sharing part of your trip in such beautiful pictures- a real treat instead of usual photos! xoxo

    • lerusho says:

      Jackie, I thought photos are for a travel guide blog, I am running here some arty thing, so let’s get inky, even if it’s watercolor only, and not my reach palette. Sometimes it’s fun to go back to the basics and limit yourself with supplies, still create your memories 😉 xoxo another 4 or 5 days BFF…

  3. Janet says:

    Awesome! Great exercises for wonderful results. A documentary of what you see!

  4. Lydia says:

    Thank you for sharing your holiday art. It inspired me to make it too.🎨 just for the fun of it.

  5. Maybe these sketches can be a base for some more work (layers and texture) in the studio.

    • lerusho says:

      For sure, I just thought about it, I’d like to work on some of the sketches in big, can’t wait to get creative with all the inspiration I picked up on the road 😉

  6. jessie says:

    I really like the freshness and vitality! Out of curiosity — which did you put to paper first — the pen or the watercolors?

    • lerusho says:

      The pen and then added the watercolors, I didn’t have a long time so first I sketched, have some more only pen without colors, they will come later 😉

  7. mrsbeez says:

    Love it that you are arty on the move and the fluidity of your drawings is beautiful. Hope you are having an amazing time.

    • lerusho says:

      Thank you Lisette, soon be back and on the regular track again 😉 miss the studio and the creativity and all the online friends, roaming services are so slow.

Leave a Reply

