Keep calm and… emboss

Challenge #12 at Craft Hoarders Anonymous is about embossing, embossing the way you like it – with powder, with folder or with UTEE – well as you know I like it all. So here is my spread:

So “Keep Calm, smile and create beautiful things!”. Are you interested how did I created this piece, than feel free to stay and read on. First I used France Papillon’s French journal page stamp for my background, I stamped it with distress embossing ink and embossed it with pumice stone embossing powder.

The reason I like this technique is that embossing on the page before beginning layering colors, means no matter ink, spray ink or paint, the embossed stamp stays resistant, so it comes through all applied layers. My first colors were bonjour butter and cafe au lait from Lindy’s stamp gang.

I was letting it dry and in the meanwhile I was digging into my drawers to find some paper stash to use. I found that left over circles stamped and it tempted me to emboss it with more circle pattern (Sizzix retro circle folder). Can’t stop with circles if I begin with them once.

Next I arrange my paper collage on my spread, each one of them is from a different left over. Doesn’t it happen to you when you craft and you cut the right piece, there is that small left over, that you don’t have the heart to get rid of ? I am sure it does. So here is my collage:

It seemed to harsh like that, so I blended the pieces in with gesso, added some more tints like pop rock purple and raspberry lemonade (also Lindy’s stamp gang), finally I applied some shadows with charcoal. (So let’s count: 1. two color layer 2. gesso 3. another two color layer 4. charcoal and tadaah the embossed journal background is still there.)

I made some shadow stamping with distress ink and with the splattered mug and design cube stamps. I colorized a tissue paper and stamped the text on it with distress embossing ink and embossed it with black UTEE. Finally I added some cambric and an self altered paper clip. I colored the edges with pan pastel to give it a darker shade.

So three different embossing techniques all in one spread, because that’s the way I like it. Hope you enjoyed it as well.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Keep calm and… emboss

  1. WOW Ruth- what great movement on those pages!! Your embossing has brought so many levels of dimension here!! Sooo cool!! xo

    ps..somethings in the post for you”) I let you know when it gets closer!

  2. Felicia Aaron says:

    Ruth, you are so much fun…I love it!! Love all the elements you incorporated and the way it pops along with that great color! Super!

  3. Tammi says:

    love all of your detail on this!! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders!!

  4. smithgfb says:

    This is all about the details and I love each and every one of them. Great color and creativity. Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  5. kathycnc says:

    Wonderful inky layers and such a great use of embossing! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  6. lostcoastscrapper1 says:

    Lovely work!! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  7. Finally able to catch up and this is such a treat. Love the colours and the depth you have created is incredible. So talented.

  8. Diane says:

    Wow, love this, I think this is the first embossed journal page I have seen and it is splendid! So glad you joined us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous. ~Diane GDT

  9. wasnowcreations says:

    The charcoal shadows transform the image into something three-dimensional, feel like I could reach out and feel the shapes.

  10. Amber Milone says:

    Wow this is amazing! I love all the layers you created it looks so three dimensional! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous.

  11. Never seen embossing on a journal page before! Such detailed work! hugs from July GDT Craft Hoarders Anonymous – Sabrina

  12. Jan Marie says:

    This is amazing. . .you’ve created the illusion of such depth and dimension! Beautiful work! So glad you joined us for our challenge at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  13. I love how you always get right in there and get messy! This is a great example of embossing. Your work is amazing! Thanks for playing along with us a Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

Leave a Reply

