Summer

Here we are in the middle of the summer, beautiful green trees and bushes, flowers everywhere, the sky is blue and it’s just time to take a deep breath and pack enough from all these amazing experiences for later. So here is my snapshot of a summer feeling:

This time I played around with Sizzix dies to create texture and to create my images. I was using Tim Holtz Garden green and Mini Tatteres leaves to make  my background, I used gesso so apply my die cuts to my spread.

I colorized my spread with dylusion ink and I used distress ink to add some shadows and I distressed the edges and added some more tints with different distress inks.

I wanted to have a skyline in my green garden, so I used tissue paper, colorized it with dylusion ink and stamped with Stampotique Alphabitties stamps the word summer using archival ink. I cut my page I inserted my tissue paper and I stitched the page back together.

My butterfly is cut with the Basic shapes of Sizzix, one of my oldie-goldie favorite. I used vintage newspaper that I colorized with distress ink (dried marigold and mustard seed). In the middle I added a self-altered found object as a body.

My flowers are cut with Tattered floral die. First I embossed my paper, I colorized it with distress ink. Than I run through my die. I assembled my flower layers and in the middle I added some distress glitter.

Hope you enjoyed my summer snapshot with all the dies and distress. I am sharing my spread with Vintage Journey: challenge #10 and Inspiration emporium summer fun challenge.

Dies used:

Tim Holtz alterations Tattered florals

Tim Holtz alterations Garden greens #659436

Tim Holtz alterations Mini tattered leaves #657460

Sizzix Basic shapes #658300

Sizzix Delicate butterfly #658300

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Summer

  1. lovely textures in this spread Ruth! xoxo

  2. Amazing with this kind of texture and colors… fab!

  3. mrsbeez says:

    This has all the lushness of summer or a tropical rainforest. Loving this technique. I am interested that Dylusions have retained their colour over gesso – mine usually saps the colour. The shading looks amazing – do you use foam to apply the distress inks? Sorry to ask so many questions but I love the effects you have created.

    • lerusho says:

      My experience with gesso and dylusion that the gesso must be completely dry, you need to let it dry a but on air, and then when you spray with dylusion if you want a real strong color spray with heat gun in your hand so you can dry immediately, like that it keeps the original if you let it air dry it saps… yep. For shading I am using the regular ranger foams, I am cutting them up to different sizes 😉 and close to my images I use the cheapest cotton buds from my super, it’s like a pencil to draw with distress ink 🙂 And I am always happy to answer all the questions.

  4. mrsbeez says:

    Thank you, that’s really interesting. I often use a heat gun to dry dylusions on paper but not over gesso (slightly worried about mis-timing and wafting dylusions all over the place!!!) Had never thought of cotton buds and I have a huge packet to hand in my craft space.

    • lerusho says:

      I have the wafting problem as well with the heat gun and dylusion, but I try to correct it with tinting or shading 🙂 distress ink or pan pastels. Cotton buds are a handy tool by me, I clean spots with them or apply paint, pastels, ink, wow genius it was the one who invented them, won’t get along without them in my craft space 😉

  5. Anne says:

    I love the texture you created with the Garden Green die and your flowers are so pretty! Thanks so much for joining us at A Vintage Journey. Anne x

  6. massofhair says:

    Very lovely flowers, fantastic background with lots of textures. Really does remind you of a bright summers day:-) xxx

  7. Rupa says:

    Loved your tropical lush green backdrop! The textures and shading looks beautiful.

  8. Annie G says:

    A stunning make, wonderful background and the colours are fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing with us at AVJ. I enjoyed the tips you provided above too. Best wishes
    Annie x

Leave a Reply

