Longing, dreaming, waiting

Nostalgia is a sentimentality for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations. The first thing that comes to my mind as a typical happy period or place from the past is the family vacation times (probably it’s because of the summer). But  let’s say it this way, right now I long for the family vacations from the past, for the time we spent together. So I made a nostalgia spread in my art journal:

I really wanted to make it nostalgic, so I was beginning by making a collage from long forgotten treasures from my drawer. That’s how it looked like:

I loved the textures, but I wanted some more, and I wasn’t so satisfied with the colors. So first I whitewashed my spread with gesso then I added some textures with stencil and finally I colored my spread with Lindy’s stamp gang flat fabio sprays.

I liked it and I wanted to continue with something that I didn’t use a long time ago, so in another drawer of mine I found some long forgotten but still working markers with different size of heads and even with paintbrush, wow, didn’t know that I have them… and if I already found them they deserve some doodling attention. I made an imaginary vacation scene on my spread, my sun become a heart to emphasize the longing for the oldie-goldie good times.

My heart sun is going down giving sort of a melancholic feeling (it’s a part of nostalgia) and that red reflection on the water surface is the bridge that connects the past to the present.  On the other side I added a palm tree for a vacation feeling – beach, lake side, whatever – and my text, it’s a word sticker from 7 dots studio’s cold country collection and it says: “days never forgotten, longing, dreaming, waiting”.

Finally I added some doodling and distressed the edges.

Hope you liked my nostalgia, I am going to share it with Journal 52.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Longing, dreaming, waiting

  1. Jackie N says:

    This spread is now dded to my favorites list Ruth! I really love everything about it- and even if you did not give a description of what you were showing- I got it from looking at it and studying it! Well done my friend! xoxo

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks BFF, it was a bit of long not done style, I used my paints and brushes, all my inks and sprays and I forgot about the fun of doodling around with the simple markers, the good old fashioned one and I enjoyed it, it was also a sort of nostalgia 🙂

  2. mrsbeez says:

    Where is this place and please take me there now! Seriously, these are stunning pages – so vibrant and yet peaceful at the same time. Adore the heart.

Leave a Reply

