Vacation

Did you plan your vacation? Or are you just back? And if you could choose a destination where would you go? Well Italy sounds romantic for me, and I am in love with pizzas and pastas… so let’s go:

Pisa here I come… I love working with the color red – white – green, it’s a great combo. So I was beginning with a paper collage on my background. I colorized it with Lindy’s stamp gang flat shot. Then I distress the edge with pine needle distress ink and I used a small cup to stamp circles and my palette knife to stamp some lines on my background. I spattered white ink on my colored and stamped background.

Italian in colors, isn’t it? I visited Italy several times, it was always at the summer time, so what I remember is the great sunny days. My next layer’s background had to be yellow to remind me to all the sunny day, I used mustard seed distress ink, and by the side I used France Papillon’s design cube to add some texture with wild honey distress ink. Janet Klein’s Pisa I stamped  with black archival ink. While it was drying I stamped “proof of fun” from France Papillon’s barcode text with pine needle distress ink and embossed it with clear embossing powder. On top of my text I added still a lovely heart from Jo Capper-Sandon’s hearts cubed.

Now I had the sun as yellow, the text as green, the heart as red, and it wouldn’t be my card if I don’t add some stitches, I used white thread, because white was still the missing color from my Italian composition.

Finally I added some metal embellishment to hold the upper part of my card to the lower one.

Hope you had or going to have a gorgeous vacation this summer!

I am adding my card to Stampotique designer’s challenge travel/vacation.

Stampotique stamps:

France Papillon: design cube

France Papillon: barcode text

Janet Klein: Pisa

Jo Copper-Sandon: hearts cubed.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards, Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Vacation

  1. mrsbeez says:

    I LOVE this. There are so many fabulous elements – colours, textures, stamps, to name but three and I love each of them individually in addition to how you have brought them together as a whole. We are going tantilisingly close to Pisa in September (we may make it I there’s time!) and your piece has whetted my appetite.

    • lerusho says:

      Lisette Pisa is beautiful, I travelled around Italy in my early 20s, I don’t know how much it changed since then (well between us it’s more then 20 years ago), but I loved it, I loved the people, I loved the food and the places were magical… I wish I could be back for a while!

  2. Kay Wallace says:

    I love this, Ruth! And, I can tell that your memories of Pisa are still vivid today! I love the layering of (seemingly) two different worlds here. I certainly hope that you can one day revisit Pisa! Thanks for participating in the Stampotique Designers’ “travel” Challenge this week!

  3. Kathi R says:

    I so love this.

    The color scheme is fabulous and I love that red, white, and green background.

    One day I’ll visit Italy and see Pisa for myself! ‘Til then, Janet’s wonderful stamp will have to suffice!

    Thanks for playing along with my challenge this week at Stampotique Designers Challenges!

  4. dutchstamptramp says:

    This is beautiful! Thanks again for joining us at the Stampotique DC

  5. Jackie N says:

    I love your Pisa Ruth! I too hope to see it for myself one day! xo

  6. I love Pizzas and Pasta’s too, let’s go!!!
    Fab postcard 🙂
    Thanks for joining in with us at Stampotique this week 🙂

  7. *Arwen* says:

    Wonderful page Ruth ❤
    Wanna be there right now 🙂
    Thanks for joining us at SDC

    xx Arwen

  8. coco says:

    I love this too, really beautiful and clever work in my opinion, and the colours and backgrounds are fab!! Coco x

  9. massofhair says:

    Italy it is Ruth! Beautiful pages, the pink background really makes the green page pop, each element is perfectly placed. Love what you have created:-) xxx

  10. kaz says:

    Another fabulous page Ruth. I bet your journal looks gorgeous! Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique this week.

Leave a Reply

