Flower power

It’s summer and with summer it’s not only time for good weather, being outside, or by the sea but also time for all those beautiful flowers. My eye was falling this time more on texture than on color, so I created a page:

I was creating a tissue paper collage on my page first. Then I colorized it with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays green and yellow tints.

I distressed the edges, added some more shades with pine needle distress ink and stamped with Mish mesh texture stamps from n*studio.

I really liked the texture created with the tissue paper, it resembled some leaves with the green tints on it. I wanted to add my flowers, but I couldn’t really imagine to add more colors, it would take the greens away and well every flower is surrounded with green leaves. Even a flower is actually several different petals that have textures like leaves. So I decided to use black distress ink to fade it into my green background and to form sort of a shadow effect with them. To the bottom I added some simple stitches.

And at the top right corner I added some deco fabric, on top of it the stamped text flower.

I am sharing my page with Art journal journey july challenge, hope you’ll come and join in as well.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Flower power

  1. Ruth, how stunning! love your texture and that stitch you use is becoming a fast favorite of mine!! hugs

  2. Felicia Aaron says:

    Love, love, love Ruth!!! This is probably one of my faves!! I really like your thought behind it and I agree about the flower and not wanting to take away from the background! Its fabulous! The texture is right on and the little touch at the top right is perfect! Thanks for this wonderful inspiration! 🙂

  3. love all the the texture and a fab idea with the black flower too..the little stitching is a special eyecatcher! Lovely page!
    Thank you Ruth for sharing with us at Art Journal Journey!
    ♥♥♥
    Susi

  4. Susan Carol says:

    Beautiful, really love the flowers on that wonderful texture. I must try tissue paper.

  5. sparkledaysstudio says:

    Quite wonderful texture and the black just pops in your flowers. I love black with color, it sings. xox

  6. Birgit says:

    Love the black flowers ond this awesome background. Fantastic texture.

  7. Becky says:

    I love everything about this, Ruth! And thank you for the tissue paper idea, I haven’t tried that yet.

  8. shilpa says:

    Brilliant page!! love your tissue paper background!!

  9. Sabine says:

    Wow very interesting background and the roses are perfect on it. Lovely artwork.
    Dear Greetings
    Sabine

  10. Margik says:

    Another fabulous page with a fabulous texture.

  11. Debbie says:

    This turned out really nice. I like the subdued color scheme and great texture.

  12. LonettA says:

    Absolutely wonderful page with a great texture! Also I like the silhouettes of the flowers in black … lovely contrast!

Leave a Reply

