Under the sea

We are at the highest time of the summer, vacation and visiting the sea is a part of it, isn’t it? Did you ever wonder what is under the sea? What are the secrets that it’s hiding? And by that I mean not the visible things like the flora, the fauna or the “found objects”… I mean that all those things have their own story, did you ever wonder how far those things traveled till you noticed them? Well with all these thoughts in my mind I created this art journal page:

The text is from Henry W. Longfellow: “…my soul is full of longing for the secrets of the sea…”. I was beginning with a newspaper collage on my spread representing sort of underwater waves. If you ever dived you know that under water waves looks like darker spots of water. I blended my collage in with gesso. Then I colored the page with Lindy’s stamp gang sprays, actually a mixture of two colors: merry-go-round green and c’est la vie cerise (it’s green and blue like the sea visually). And around my collage pieces I added some shades with pan pastel.

It looked okey, but I still missed something, well the bubbles, of course, under the sea without bubbles, oh come on. I added them without any hesitation.

I distressed my edges I applied some broken china distress ink to emphasize the pages. I used some gelli plate monotype prints with twigs die from Sizzix to create my undersea-underground.

I painted an anchor with Prima stencil and some distress paint, and added stitches as a rope for my anchor through my spread. I added my embellishments: a turtle, a shell and a starfish. Hope you enjoyed the dive with me. I am sharing my spread with Journal 52 prompt.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Gelli Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Under the sea

  1. mrsbeez says:

    Love your seascape. The newspaper and inks with the addition of bubbles look fabulous and I love the stitching – so effective.

  2. What a fun spread Ruth! Love your clouds especially- you always have a great way of tying everything together! xo

Leave a Reply

