Share

I have so many different favorite sentiments, but one of them is about indistinguishability.  Call me a dreamer or star-gazer, but I would like to believe in it that one day we all going to discover that we are the same, we are all brothers and sisters, it doesn’t matter if we have different skin or hair color, if we have different religions or if we speak different languages. So we all share the one and most important thing: being human.

And as usual I am going to share with you the process of creating my spread. First I made a paper collage from pieces of prints from my drawer.

I colorized my collage with ecoline sand yellow and burnt sienna.

I used The Tweedles from Stampotique Originals to shadow stamp with distress ink on my background. I shaded the sides.

To one side I added my sentiment: we share the same biology regardless of ideology… which is actually from one of Stings oldie goldies (sorry I am not  a young chick anymore). Oh and of course I felt I need to add some stitches as well as decoration.

And on the other side I added the Tweedles stamped with archival ink. They stand on a piece of self altered cotton fabric stitched on my page, decorated with washi tape and self rusted embellishment.

I am sharing my spread with Stampotique Designers Challenge: Sentimental.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Share

  1. mrsbeez says:

    I love your thinking and your choice of words here is perfect. The pages are fabulous, great seeing how it all came together and I am in love with the Tweedles (Alice through the Looking Glass is a favourite). Did you know there was a DT call out over at Finnabair (http://tworzysko.blogspot.co.uk/) – can’t help but think you would be perfect.

    • lerusho says:

      Thanks Lisette, and yes I saw the DT call, but I don’t use a lot of Finnabair embellishments, I usually rust my own findings (like hardware store 😉 ), though I make mixed media, I don’t know how much she is looking for a “copycat”…

  2. Great page spread- great quote used and great post! You are an awesome Stargazer my friend! xoxo

  3. I always enjoy your art but I especially love your patterns of thought. My daughter always tells me that research shows that we are all related..of course I can’t remember the details of that research 🙂

  4. Paula says:

    Stunning background, love the colours.

  5. Kay Wallace says:

    We are on the same path, Ruth–brothers and sisters all are we! Already, my family is a mish-mash of skin color, hair color, eye color and more, and we love them all! I love your art here, but, even more, I love it’s message. That the Tweedles are “color free” speaks volumes! Thanks so much for participating in the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge again this week!

  6. Gez says:

    Fabulous! Loving all the textures & colours. Thank you for joining the challenge over at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge. Gez

  7. kaz says:

    This is fabulous and I love the quote, it’s so true. Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique.

  8. massofhair says:

    My family is full of different colours and personalities, they do however share the same human DNA. We are all connected on many levels, always been understood in Metaphysical teachings.

    We are all one… My hope too is that one day people will open their hearts to the idea. Thank you for sharing your wishes, thank you for sharing such heartfelt and unique ArT. Love your pages:-) xxx

  9. Erika N says:

    You always have something new and different to look at. The twiddle dee and twiddle dum are great additions. I love the crinkly background too.

  10. Laura Bush says:

    This is terrific–I love the background so much.

  11. shilpa says:

    Great page, love everything about this- texture, colors and two boys 🙂

  12. *Arwen* says:

    Great project Ruth! The background is awesome ❤
    Thanks for joining us at SDC

    xx Arwen

Leave a Reply

