Courage to imagine

I think that as artists the biggest courage we need is to imagine, to use our fantasy. You know when you sit there next to that piece of white paper. You need to have courage to put the first marks down. Then in the middle of the process you need to have the courage to continue, to show a full image or a part of it only. And finally you need to have the courage to stop, to say that’s it, that’s what I wanted to say.

I was working with gelli-arts monotype prints as one of my favorites and with Stampers Anonymous stamps. My background is and orange ghost print, here you can see it:

My second layer was a gelli-print with faded dots, I applied torn pieces on my background, as I found it to harsh I whitewashed it with gesso. Then I made my collage pieces pop with charcoal. At the corner I stamped with Stampers Anonymous stamp (CMS 181).

My text is stamped with archival ink Stampers Anonymous stamp (CMS 124).

By the side I used a third gelli-arts monoprint to add another color to my composition. I distressed the sides and I added some distress ink as a shadow to my collage.

So to make an art journal spread just have courage to imagine!

I am sharing my AJ pages with Journal 52.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal, Gelli Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Courage to imagine

  1. I absolutely love what you have written here…so true…so true 😉

  2. Very well put Ruth! xo

  3. Your energy is fantastic. I must try gelli printing some day! You are giving me courage in your eloquent words and images. Love what I see here. THANK YOU!

  4. I usually have courage to start a page, but it is continuing I seem to have problems with.

Leave a Reply

