Promise to stay in my secret garden

Most people call their home their castle, well I prefer to call it my secret garden. It sounds more mystical, more enchanted and as an artist my fantasy keeps spinning things around. I don’t own a house, actually I don’t even own an apartment, I am just renting, but in my freaked imagination I could build several houses in my secret garden, I could invite my friends to jump over and to stay for as long as they wish in one of my whimsical cottages.

As I took a look at my mail I realized that in every address you have letters and numbers. So I decided to put my garden marks down with a number collage with gesso and paint over it with Lindy’s stamp gang flat shots. And then to add some letters with pan pastel.

But it seemed so clean and proper, so I added some grunge letter stamping with black archival ink.

…while it was drying my doodle mojo was beginning to build my houses, so crooked and ย whimsical ones. Quick sketch, then some water colors and some art liner.

Why every wall needs to be straight, when it can be wonky? I found some old pieces of paper in my drawer, just perfect for the base, and there they went sitting in my number/letter secret garden. I added some yellow acrylics to the background to smooth them in and then I made them pop with charcoal. I added my text and some more lines with my Molotow marker.

Oops I felt like I am still missing something, oh yeah… the fence… so I took my sewing machine and added some stitches.

 

Welcome in my imaginary secret garden, hope you stayed till the end.

I am sharing my wonky whimsical houses with Art journal journey june challenge.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Promise to stay in my secret garden

  1. I did! And I love your secret garden with your crooked houses!! xo

  2. wandahentges says:

    Love your pages!!!! Very fun!!

  3. Felicia Aaron says:

    Ruth, love all that yummy color and those whimsical houses! So cute!

  4. mrsbeez says:

    Absolutely adore this. Your houses are fabulous – I used to doodle houses a lot and you have inspired me to get right back into it again. I’m having problems with my blog right now and the stress it’s causing as zapped my mojo. Some doodling might prove very therapeutic ๐Ÿ™‚

    • lerusho says:

      Yeah it helps a lot, I know I freaked out because my internet was down for a day, no phone, no net, like the nice old times with pigeons, hehe… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. This is an AMAZING spread Ruth!
    I love those houses … they are just fab!
    I would be happy to live in this village!
    Thank you for joining Art Journal Journey again!
    So happy to have you with us!
    xxx
    Susi

  6. chrissiesz says:

    Wonderful pages-love everything about them

    Chrissie x

  7. Fun secret garden pages you’ve created and the machine stitching adds a super touch as well!
    oxo

  8. sparkledaysstudio says:

    Oh your secret garden is marvelous and I would hang about there with you any day. xox

  9. Janeen Leach says:

    Love your art. Just started following you. Found you through Julie Fei-Fan Balzer. Would to come visit your home in the secret garden.

  10. Barbara B. says:

    Beautiful colorful houses. They are so vibrant and dance! Super!

Leave a Reply

