Vintage Journey – Get some texture

The new challenge on Vintage Journey ask us to create with different texture techniques and then share which one we used. I just love textures, the more it is, the better it becomes. So here is my addition to Get some texture:

And as usual I am going to show you how did I work. So first I got my flower embellishments ready. Well if you think the paper comes ready like that, you don’t know me yet and you are mistaken. That’s a completely white crafting paper. I used Sizzix dots embossing folder to make the texture on the paper and then I colored them with distress ink. Here are the crafting sheets before die cutting:

Then I used the Tattered floral die from Tim Holtz and on some other craft paper that I painted with crackle picket fence paint I used the Garden green die. I assembled my flowers and in the middle I added some distress glitter, the technique you can find in Compendium of Curiosities Vol 3 page 56.

Now for the card, on a white card stock I used the floral wreath stamp from Tim Holtz’s Nature walk CMS 181 with VersaMark and I melted on it some liquid platinum embossing powder.

I still wanted to have a smaller image to position in the middle, so I used again a card stock that I colored with 4 different distress ink colors and on the ray stencil I applied some transparent embossing powder, technique is from Compendium of Curiosities Vol 3 page 50.

After adding my background to my frame card, I altered the edges with vintage photo distress ink and misted it to have a bit of an aged look.

And finally to melt the layers together, I used Tim Holt’s Love letter text stamp with black archival ink and my flower embellishments.

Hope you enjoyed the texture ride with me, and maybe you join the fabulous challenge of Vintage journey right here.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Cards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vintage Journey – Get some texture

  1. Felicia Aaron says:

    Ruth, I really love this! Those flowers are so yummy! Nice work!

  2. You definitely are a texture goddess Ruth! teehee! So glad you show your steps as I love to learn about your processes!! hugsxx

  3. butterfly says:

    Love the bold colours, and those polka-dotty flowers are really cute. Thanks so much for joining us on A Vintage Journey.
    Alison x

Leave a Reply

