Tenderness

What is the first thing that comes into your mind about tenderness? Isn’t it softness? Where, what… in our world nowadays? It was becoming dogmatic that “if you want to get somewhere, if you want to achieve something you need to be tough, no time and no place for being gentle and kind but you need to fight and be a kick-ass”… pussy I am, but I’ve never been tough enough, I mean I couldn’t kick asses to get ahead or be arrogant to stand in front of others, yeah it might be the reason that I am not a millionaire today, but I don’t mind, and you know why, because I have feelings, because I can be tender, loving and caring when it’s necessary, I can cry and I am not affraid or ashamed to look into the mirror and to say yes that’s me.

And that’s true for men as well. If only men can learn to show their emotion, their tender side, the world would be a different place. Kahlil Gibran wrote: “tenderness is not a sign of weakness, but a manifestation of strength“! So let’s all show our strength:

I worked on a canvas where first I made a collage from old news paper and some texture. I covered my collage with a layer of gesso.

Then I colored my canvas with Lindy’s stamp gang flatshots and some acrylic ink. I even stamped with n*studio’s mixed media stamps on my color, for more texture.

I loved the color combination, it seemed like a soft summer breeze floating down on my canvas. Finally I pulled my lines with black lava and white molotow on my colorful canvas, I tried to create the image of a woman and a man at a tender moment, as I explained before I think tenderness is not only for women, but supposed to be for men as well.

Didn’t wanted to go deep in details, so my lines are rough, the meaning was to capture the emotion, not really a face.

The dominant warm colors and the textures are trying to express a positive feeling.

I am sharing my canvas with Mixed media place challenge: what are you feeling and  Paint Party Friday.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations, Mixed media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tenderness

  1. Very interesting texture you have created here. I’m trying to figure out what you used here is it a fine wire mesh? Looks great. I love all the dripping colors. Very emotional piece. Happy PPF

    • lerusho says:

      Thank you Emma, and indeed it’s a fine mesh, but it’s not wire, it’s fabric, but it’s used in packaging so it’s harder. Happy PPF to you too!

  2. fran says:

    Textures, color and composition, Great!

  3. The is such an interesting piece. I love love love all the depth and colors

  4. the colour combination is very summery and I think you have photographed the detailed beautifully for us to enjoy…xx

  5. you nailed the tenderness

  6. Ruth, Thank you for sharing about yourself on the canvas, which is quite lovely, as well as in your post. I always enjoy reading your thoughts!xo

  7. lindabrun says:

    Beautiful, love the different layers.
    Thanks for playing with us at Mixed Media Place.
    Linda

  8. pbhum says:

    Great composition!! Thank you for playing with us at MMP

  9. paperiliitin says:

    Love this! So unique and original! Thank you for participating in the Mixed Media Place’s challenge!

Leave a Reply

