Steampunk

I felt like “steampunk” today, so let’s have some fun in that art journal:

Steampunk beauty

I had that rusty industrial feeling today, it’s also quiet rainy outside and there’s a huge crane standing close to us, that makes a lot of noise. As I opened my eyes in the morning that huge monster looked back at me steaming (warm summer morning + cooling morning rain = steam on metal). So I had to put it all together and make a sort of a fun of it. I took a piece of paper and colorized it with ecoline (burnt sienna and sand yellow). Gives pretty warm and rusty feeling.

I ran this piece through my steampunk embossing folder. Than I distressed it and gave it a color shine with vintage photo distress ink. It looked okey, but still I wanted to have a more metallic feeling. So I took another piece of paper and through a metal patterned stencil I applied some modeling paste that I colorized with acrylic paint. Finally as I love layering for an additional layer I added a plate that I made with France Papillon’s barcode stamp and some liquid platinum embossing powder. I added some metal embellishments as well.

Now I needed my ‘steampunk beauty’, I used Tetewea from Daniel Torrente, isn’t she a beauty? I stamped her with archival ink and colored her with Lindy’s stamp gang’s color shot hibiscus rose. Of course I stamped also the text steampunk beauty with archival ink and colored it with distress ink.

I am sharing my steampunk beauty with Stampotique designer’s challenge: steampunk.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Steampunk

  1. Gez says:

    Brilliant! I absolutely adore the background. Thank you for joining the Stampotique Designers Challenge, Gez

  2. Kathi R says:

    Fabulous! Gorgeous background with so much rusty metallic texture! Tetewea makes a wonderful Steampunk beauty!

    Thanks for playing along with my challenge at Stampotique Designers Challenges!

  3. Lisette says:

    Your choice of colours and embossing folders is so effective and I love the contrast of the character (love that colour too!) against it. Punchy stuff – fabulous!

  4. Kay Wallace says:

    Great pairing of background and Tetewea, Ruth! I must get that embossing folder, but, I have to admit, your color made it totally steampunk! A wonderful piece for this week’s Stampotique Designers’ Challenge–yet again! 😉

  5. isabel says:

    Un fondo maravilloso!! Me encantan los sellos de Stampótique y esa carpeta de relieve es una de mis preferidas. Tengo que conseguirla yo también. Saludos cordiales!!

  6. kaz says:

    It;s a fab steampunk background! Thanks for joining us again at Stampotique.

  7. Sue The Iron says:

    This is fabulous, I love the warm background colours, and Tatewea does look beautiful! Thanks so much for joining in with us at Stampotique Designers Challenge. Sue xx

  8. Great steampunk Ruth! I really love how you are creating this journal with the mounted pages! beautiful! xo

  9. Pingback: Four days remaining until Asylum VI | Steampunk Journal

Leave a Reply

