Word up #83 will

Word up #83 on One little word is Will. When I think about will, I rather take the meaning about the future that still stands in front of me and not the one that means the end. Why? Maybe I am a dreamer or someone who is too optimist, but I would like to believe in good things, things that will change the world, even if it’s only for one, or for a small group or for a big community. “Will” can get wings like a bird, fly free and make dreams come true.

That’s my interpretation for this month’s one little word:

always will hope to dream

I took one of my favorite artists’ tool, my gelli-arts plate and I printed first a blue background with bubble wrap pattern (I am in love with this pattern right now). Than I painted my red bird on my gelli plate and printed on my background. When it dried I used Tim Holtz’s stencil with pan pastels to create the dark blue diamond patterns.

I love playing with shades and shadows, so I added some more pan pastels to achieve some effect, like my bird would fly from darkness towards the light.

I added my words and dropped on them some shadows.

Finally I took my grunge stencil, I applied heavy gel medium through it and when it dried properly I added a different shade to it with pan pastels.

I am sharing my work with One little word, word up # 83.

I would like to remind you also that there’s a silent auction going on from 15-17 may at http://www.32auctions.com/bringbackourgirls the money raised goes to  http://girlrising.com/nigeria-action/ it’s for the girls right to education, you can bid, you can donate or you can only let others know about it. It’s about their will and hope to get education.

Thank you for reading my post till the end.

 

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Gelli Arts, Mixed media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Word up #83 will

  1. Ruth, another beautiful page! I really loved reading your thoughts on your word.beautiful my friend! xo

  2. the gelli printed bird is awsome

  3. clare says:

    Such a bold design. Thanks for joining us at one little word and well done on winning one of the prizes.

  4. Your background is sublime – love it. Love your thinking around this piece too. Now I don’t have a gelli plate – yet, but I WILL get one very soon 🙂 .

    • lerusho says:

      Thank you Lisette, a gelli plate is a must, it’s so easy to print and such an endless possibilities to create, but watch out it’s addicting like melting pot with beeswax 😉

  5. wasnowcreations says:

    It’s helpful to see what you did with your print after you finished with the Gelli plate. (I have many prints, but I”m not sure what to do with them all!) I wouldn’t have thought the diamond pattern would go with a bird in flight, but they complement each other perfectly.

    • lerusho says:

      Thank you, I can’t say ahead what goes with what, I just experiment and if I don’t like it there’s always gesso, and sometimes the best results are coming from oops!

  6. you can never be too optimistic! The red bird says it all.

  7. I love your page using the OLW Will! So beautiful!!!!

Leave a Reply

