Celebrate spring

And here we go, Compendium of Curiosities 3 challenge 2, and it’s distress glitter. So let’s celebrate spring with glitter and shine. I was inspired by the birds that wake me up every morning late, and by the first ray of sun shining through my window. I just love it. It’s a real celebration of that beautiful time of the year.

Celebrate spring

I used Sizzix’s rays emboss folder to create my morning rays. I colored them with distress ink: mustard seed and worn lipstick. After coloring I applied on the red part distress glitter (the technique is on page 56 in Tim Holtz’s book). I let it dry. I stamped my blue bird with forget-me-not archival ink and I applied stormy sky distress glitter. I made the birds nest with black archival ink, the stamps are Tim Holtz’s Nature walk CMS181. The fern is Tim Holtz’s garden greens die colored with pine needles distress ink. The text comes from Tim Holtz’s chitchat stickers. The background is altered, the edges are distressed and it’s colored with fried burlap distress ink. The flower ribbon gave me even more the feeling of spring and celebration.

blue bird

I am sharing glitter bird with Compendium of Curiosities 3 challenge 2 and Inspiration emporium may challenge.

Don’t forget to visit the gorgeous sponsors of this challenge: Inspiration emporium and The funkie  junkie boutique.

And if you are interested in the glitter technique you can get Tim Holtz’s book Compendium of Curiosities 3 here.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Celebrate spring

  1. Lovely entry Ruth! Your sun and rays really speak of warmth they bring!

  2. Lovely spring tag, Ruth. Stormy Sky is a go to color for me and a natural for your bird. Thank you very much for your kind comments on my blog.

  3. Susan Mostek says:

    Great job, Ruth! It really lots like Spring is finally here! Just not here in Colorado yet! Thanks for playing along with us!

  4. I love the ribbon, it looks like a curtain, nice

  5. Wow Ruth, I love the colours!! Perfect spring make, thanks for taking part in the Inspiration challenge x

Leave a Reply

