Save button for the mind’s eye

What is photography? Is it a mirror of our past? Is it the true documentation of a certain moment of our life? Or is it rather something that we chose to keep in our memory? Well I think that it is somewhere in between. Sometimes it’s the real thing, sometimes it’s more an arranged thing and sometimes depending on pure luck it is a magical surrealistic future scene.

I found that great quote from Roger Kingston: A camera is a save button for the mind’s eye. Our mind is also a mixture of past, present and future, we have our memories, we see what’s going on around us and with our dreams we can reach to the future. So here is a photography art journal page:

Well this time I was beginning on a simple spread that I used to clean my crafting sheet, there was some blue and some sort of an orange on it, then it mixed and some place became greenish, sort of a paper that you’ll never begin with.

Ugly enough? Well I can still see something futuristic or rather abstract surrealistic in it. It is just the perfect background for me. I decided to melt the colors together, so I used some gesso and a lot of water:

Yeah, looks like pretty stormy, even on fire… so I took an old camera stamp and I stamped on it with distress ink and some old text stamp as well. So I got some more grunge texture.

I had an image in my head that I wanted to use already for a long time, a photo that I took at the Happy Birthday Academy exhibition. It’s an art work of Henri Van Herwegen or as it is known by the wide public Panamarenko, I had luck with the light and I got a very nice shot from his ‘flying machine’. Panamarenko is not only one of my favorite artist, but also someone who is pretty much fascinated by machines, engineering and well a camera is also a device.

So that’s my vision over photography and I am sharing it with Journal 52 as well.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Save button for the mind’s eye

  1. Wow- love the transformation here Ruth- and the quote is perfect! “)

  2. Felicia Aaron says:

    Ruth, I really like this. But I really liked the sheet even before the gesso….something kind of funky about it! Turned out to be a real neat spread!

  3. What a great quote! Love you colour palette!

Leave a Reply

