Circles

Circle as the the shape is known from the very beginning of the history. But in later ages that simple round shape became the center of invention, just think about the wheel or about the gears. Must a circle be always equal from every side or is an ellipse also a circle? Well I’ve never been a genius at geometry, but the round shape moved my fantasy.

Circles

My circles, may be my too many circles. I was beginning with a simple paper collage of some gelli prints, I have a whole stash in a drawer and I love using them. I call it my own paper stash. So as it was printed on tissue paper, I didn’t only collage them, but I wrinkled them as well.

These were my beginning circles. If you follow me you already know that one layer is never enough by me. So first I played around with the stencil of n*studio and archival ink, than I used her stamps and added some more circles (dots are also circles) with silver and prussian blue acrylics. Finally the too dark black parts I covered with liquid gesso.

While it was drying I was stamping on an another paper with mixed media stamps and gold acrylics, nice webbed circles.

Yoohoo, so many circles, gears, wheels and dots, let’s melt everything together. So I was cutting, collaging, rendering and adding some metal embellishments (self-rusted washers).

And finally on that black line dark area I decided to add my “circles” word with red archival ink and tadaah:

I am sharing my spread with Art Journal journey‘s monthly challenge: circles.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Circles

  1. Ruth, I always love how you show start to finish and where your mind set is while traveling there! Great pages and there are never too many circles! xo

  2. Felicia Aaron says:

    Love all the yummy textures!!! Circles never looked so fun! You’ve given me thoughts! Thanks for sharing!

  3. great textures and depth in this page

  4. Dagmar says:

    oh wow – a fantastic artwork – great!

  5. This is just GORGEOUS Ruth!
    WOW! so much depth…fab!

  6. Your circle pages are wonderful with great depth…texture and colors!
    oxo

  7. Margik says:

    What a wonderful pages! I like the design, texture and colours. Love it.

  8. sparkledaysstudio says:

    Marvelous graphic nature in this spread. xox

  9. Shilpa says:

    Absolutely gorgeous page with circles!

  10. karin says:

    wow gorgeous pages!

  11. LonettA says:

    Absolutely wonderful page! Great textures and colours! I love it!

  12. Sabine says:

    Fantastische Gestaltung! Das bedruckte Seidenpapier sieht so klasse aus als Hintergrund und die kleinen rostigen Metallscheiben sind dann das I-Tüpfelchen. Ich bin begeistert.
    Liebe Grüße
    Sabine

Leave a Reply

