April flowers for CC3C

Last saturday began the first challenge of Compendium of Curiosities Vol. III. For the one’s whom are interested in joining should visit Linda Ledbetter‘s blog, we use Tim Holtz book for inspiration, every two weeks we pick another challenge and create our interpretation. This week was paint marbling and here is my creation, a tag:

april flowers

As we agreed, we don’t share the technique, but in a few steps that I can show you, first I used a size #10 manila tag, I colorized with paint marbling technique.

For the flower embellishments, I used Tim’s mini tattered floral set and his mini branch and leaf set. I loved his Shabby Springtime Floral Pin, so I tried to make my interpretation of it. First I cut my leaves, branches and flowers from cardboard, colorized with distress paint and as I can’t live without beeswax, I dipped my colorized cardboard die cuts into beeswax.

Then I cut my flowers from burlap and deco fabric.

And finally I printed a copyright free vintage image on self-adhesive canvas, I applied my canvas on chipboard, and I cut my floral petals. Finally I colorized them with distress ink.

I arranged my flowers, branches and leaves on my tag. I used Tim’s washer border die to make a decoration stripe to my tag.

I added a butterfly ephemera and some shades to my tag. The text comes from Tim Holtz’s Chitchat  seasonal collection.

The challenge is sponsored by Inspiration Emporium, where you can get most of your crafting supplies.

I am sharing my tag with Compendium of Curiosities 3 challenge 1, and with Vintage Journey challenge 4.

Hope you enjoyed my paint marbled card and my shabby tattered flowers.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to April flowers for CC3C

  1. Lisette says:

    Sorry if I’ve commented twice – I’m working on the train so connection is iffy! Love your tag and so pleased to see you are joining in at the CC3C challenge – am hoping to find time to join in myself. Love the idea of using burlap and deco fabric for flowers and so interested to see you have used beeswax over distress paint.

    • lerusho says:

      It’s once Lisette and it’s okey, I hope you’ll find a bit of a time I’d love to see your creations as well. Distress paint is good, because it’s sealed after drying, ok you need to wait till it’s completely dry. Tricky is distress ink, because it’s interacting so you need to work quick and think about it before, so apply more then you would normally, it can all float away. Even though sometimes it gives an interesting affect, which I like, of course it depends on the media as well, I love experimenting. I loved the plain cardboard after the beeswax dip, so I thought I am going to play a bit more, no direction yet, we shall see…

      • Lisette says:

        Fabulous, thanks for the tips. My only decision now is which distress paints as they are ALL so gorgeous!!

      • lerusho says:

        Oh yeah, that’s always a trouble time with me, there so many gorgeous colors of distress paints, and distress inks and distress markers and I always end up wanting more… not talking about the rest of the stuff and the stamps 😉

  2. candycolwell says:

    Lerusho…your tag is beautiful. I love how you did our own interpretation of Tim’s tattered flowers. Very textural and beautifully done. Your marbled background is such a soft, pretty blend of colors. I love the design of your tag. Thanks so much for sharing your art with us at A Vintage Journey and also at CC3C. These are fun places to hang out. ❤ Candy

  3. Julie S says:

    What a beautiful tag! I really like the look of the corrugated cardboard dipped in wax.

  4. Pam Hooten says:

    Great background, love the tag!
    Thanks for joining us in the Inspiration Journal monthly challenge!

  5. pinkleart says:

    What a great tag, love the texture on the flowers and the shading on your butterfly is fab.. Thanks for playing along with the CC3 challenge x

Leave a Reply

