Relax – refresh

What do you do when you take a day off? I love creating, I love getting my fingers inky, painty and sticky. If I have a day off when I don’t need to get up, when I don’t need to think about the must do tasks, I still love making art! Without any specific lines, without knowing where I end up, just take layer by layer, just use the first color that comes under my hands and let it flow, who knows… definitely it’s going to take me to a new direction… that’s what I do to relax and to refresh my mind.

relax – refresh

Are you interested how did I relaxed this time? Well, easy and fun steps: first I took some tissue paper I wrinkled it and I colorized it with dylusion ink. After it dried I tore it up to make a collage.

I founded a bit harsh, so I used gesso to whitewash it. And then I took the stencils from n*studio’s mixed media stamps and began to play with acrylic and with archival ink, wherever it came and whatever came.

I still wanted to play, something said go on… so I took the stamps of n*studio: grunge and began to stamp first with silver acrylic and then with violet.

I loved that grunge and the color mixture that I would never use unless it’s a relax-time. I had to wait to dry, so I took an old book page and I began to cut circles, why circles? Relax… why not, I feel like! And I stamped on my circles, with bloom girl stamps from Prima marketing. I colorized my circles with dylusion ink.

And finally I stamped the words relax and refresh on a simple white paper. I arranged the circles and the text on my spread, added some shades and shadows and tadaah:

I am sharing my work with Journal 52 prompt: refresh. What do you do to relax? How do you refresh your mind?

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Relax – refresh

  1. Beautiful art and thanks so much for sharing your process of making it. I used the coloured tissue paper on my abstract Journal52 page and really love that special quality you get by using it and letting it wrinkle and play.

  2. Great textures Ruth and loooooove those colors! xo

  3. The background struck really struck me when I first saw your post. Wow! All that layering gives your finished piece so much depth. Really great 🙂

  4. Susan Carol says:

    I love your spread and your post made me smile – creating is definitely relaxing, specially when it involves paints and stencils and stamps, etc. Love the tissue paper effect, I must try that out, and the lovely colours.

  5. paperiliitin says:

    So stunning! Love the circles and the bold colors!

  6. Tracy says:

    Lovely colours, and it has circles. What more could I want? 🙂

  7. Carmen says:

    I truly love this page, it had all the things I like… circles, shading and text!!!
    Thank you for sharing!
    ~Blessings

  8. Love the color and texture. Thanks for sharing the process.

  9. clare says:

    great background textures.

  10. createwithjoy says:

    Your artwork always inspires me and – in a week where I am feeling particularly burnt out – your message speaks to my heart.

    Congratulations – you are one of my featured guests this week at Inspire Me Monday at Create With Joy! 🙂

  11. This is stunningly beautiful! Thank you for sharing.
    We’re your two newest fans! Feel free to visit us at caylandashley.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

