Recycled art

I had a page laying around on my table for a long time, so I thought it’s high time to use it in a way or another, let’s say to recycle it. I also had some more paper garbage from yesterday’s card play, so why not upcycle, and here is the result:

recycled art

So that was my beginning page, a piece of white paper hanging around my table with red modeling paste applied through TCW’s love post stencil.

Nothing exciting, so I thought I need to add some texture to it. I had some heart shapes hanging around from yesterdays tag painted with red iron oxide on old newspaper and the edge of the Harlequin border die that I used yesterday. All collaged on my back ground, all different colors, so let’s look for some harmony. I took my brayer and without mercy ran over it with light pink acrylic.

Great… now it’s too flat. So I took my Molotow markers and begin to highlight my shapes and add some shades and shadows. The edges I painted with different tints of pink and purple. I felt I was getting somewhere.

Oh yeah and I had that cute grunge number stamps so I added them with archival ink.

Finally I had a piece of chalkboard paper, I wrote on it “recycled art” and glued to my page. I fixated all my layers with beeswax. So less lingering on my worktable.

I am sharing my spread with Journal52 prompt: recycled art.

 

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Recycled art

  1. What a great piece of recycled/upcycled art Ruth! I love this! Of course I love your colors and the edges with the diamond shapes and marker really accentuate your page- I feel it!! Happy Tuesday my friend! xoxo

  2. Lisette says:

    Love the textures and the colours on this page.

  3. Tracy says:

    What a creative way to tidy your table! Much more fun than putting things away…

  4. I love recycling and turning out something new your page is beautiful thanks for sharing visiting via the hop have a great day.

  5. bevbaird says:

    Love your journal page and the description of your process.

Leave a Reply

