Spring flowers

Who doesn’t like spring time with all its gorgeous colors and smells, with all the beautiful flowers? I think it can be easily called a favorite season of the year. So let’s enjoy the sunshine and celebrate the new flowers with a card:

spring flowers

I was beginning with a simple white paper that I embossed with Sizzix rays emboss folder and distressed with mustard seeds and dried marigold, finally I misted it with a bit of a water to blend it.

I used an old newspaper add of a camera to make a paper collage on a manila tag. Then I whitewashed my collage, it seemed to be to harsh, but still I let some of it come over. I applied broken china ink and again I misted it with water a bit.

I was getting busy to create my flowers, I used from Tim Holtz’s collage mini stash papers to cut my flower with leaves embosslits from Sizzix. I used worn lipstick and peeled paint to colorize it and finally I dipped it into some melted beeswax to make it shine. I cut with Tim Holtz’s Harlequin border die a card stock and I distressed the edges with pine needles.

Finally I assembled my card, I added the words “spring” and “flowers” from seasonal chitchat. I framed my text with label pulls and its embellishments.

 

I am sharing my work with Vintage Journey challenge 4 – spring flowers.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spring flowers

  1. Ruth -i love that sunshine Sizzix embosslit- can I use that on my Cuddlebug?And how about those dies? those too? I love learning from you! Thank you always for sharing- inspiration from others is so cool!

  2. j.ajabad says:

    Wow, that is goregous! ;D I love Tim Holtz products.

  3. Oh Ruth .. I missed so much of your fantastic projects here… all is so amazingly beautiful and fantastic to see the steps ..
    GORGEOUS!
    Thank you for sharing all this with us!
    xxx
    Susi

  4. Anne says:

    I do love that sunray embossing folder and you have certainly made the sun shine with the colours you have used. The flowers are beautiful and the harlequin border is a lovely finishing touch. Thanks so much for joining our challenge at A Vintage Journey. Anne x

  5. I love your most unusual flowers and fabulous sun ray embossing. Thanks for joining us at A Vintage Journey for our spring flowers challenge. Jennie x

Leave a Reply

