Adventure of the mind

This month’s word up on One little word is adventure. I took it a bit philosophically, so my adventure is not made with suitcases or in a caravan, it’s not about traveling through different lands or through our lives. I took an adventure in my mind: “A work of art is above all an adventure of the mind“, a beautiful quote from Eugene Ionesco.

an adventure of the mind

Well I was beginning with a simple gel plate monotype print, that I made with some flowers. Here is the original gelli-arts print:

As a background it seemed to be pretty harsh, so I softened it with gesso, just white washing it. I used n*studio mixed media stamp Wired, it’s a great combination of stamps and stencil. First I used the stencil with archival ink leaf green and then the wired stamp with archival ink forget me not.

After stenciling and stamping I realized that I have a beautiful image there in the left side. So I outlined my image took my acrylics and begin to paint. I made it pop with charcoal.

Finally I added my text, distressed my edges and applied some shadows and here we go with the adventure in my mind, it was quiet a nice journey from the first print till the finished art work.

I am sharing my work with my friends at One little word word up #82 challenge.

 

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Adventure of the mind

  1. Fabulous pages. Love the red flower leaps off the page.

  2. I’m new to your blog. I love your adventure with this piece of art. I think the pink/red shape looks like a map of your adventure! It’s beautiful and so interesting to look at. I love multi-media art.

  3. Ruth, Thanks for taking us along on your journey- it was a very relaxing one . Love how the page changes so dramatically with gesso and charcoal- another beautiful piece of art! xo

  4. clare says:

    Great page, thanks for joining us at one little word.

  5. This is gorgeous. I actually saw a map – a globe like map – in the pink flower. I just ran with the traditional adventure theme, I suppose! 🙂

    Grateful I visited today (from Creative Every Day!)

  6. Linda B says:

    That image looks terrific. I do like the monchrome start and that you jazzed it up.

  7. Stopping by from creative every day. I love seeing your step by step progress in completing gorgeous pages. Art journaling is new to me so every page I make in Life Book 2014 is a challenge. You make it look easy. You got the stamp and template from Nathalie Karlbach? I need to check her out.

  8. This is beautiful work! Thanks for sharing the process.

  9. Wow! I love your page! Great take on the word “adventure,” and the intense color really brings it to life! Thanks for playing along with us at One Little Word!

  10. I love your pages so much! What a wonderful take on the word adventure! Your work is amazing!

Leave a Reply

