Freedom of mind

The light and modern mood board of Scrap Around the world April’s challenge was made by Riikka Kovasin.

Riikka Kovasin’s mood board

I was inspired by the crackled texture, the great light green and light blue color combo (it gives a great feeling for the spring) the hand drawn irregular circled lines and the butterflies.  So here is my interpretation of the mood board, I called it Freedom of mind:

Freedom of mind

First I applied a layer of relief paste that crackles if you dry it with a heat gun. I colored my background with a light yellow-green ecoline.

Well, I still wasn’t satisfied with the crackle result, so I took my crackle prima marketing stencil, I added some UTEE with emboss-it dabber and I melted it with my heat gun.

After it cooled I made a few doodles with black Molotow marker on my background.

Finally I made my butterfly with basic butterfly dies of Sizzix that I colorized with two shades of blue and black. I hand lettered my text with Molotow marker and voilà:

Hope you’ll get inspired by the beautiful mood board and join the challenge as well on Scrap around the world.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Freedom of mind

  1. paperiliitin says:

    Ooh, love those textures! Great take on the challenge! Thank you for drawing inspiration from my mood board and joining us at SATW this month!

  2. Very nice piece Ruth- I really love your textures and where you brought your crackle too! Beauty!!

  3. Lisette says:

    Love these. I never have much success with crackle and yours looks fab. Doodling is great too.

  4. Danielle says:

    Love the textures!

  5. Agnieszka Belladea says:

    Very nice!Thank you for playing along with us at Scrap Around The World.

  6. Susan Carol says:

    Wonderful texture. Thanks for showing how you did it.

Leave a Reply

