Moments of happiness

What are the real moments of happiness? What actually happiness means? It’s a feeling and as a feeling I can connect it the most with love or joy. I found a beautiful quote from Leo Tolstoy that says it all: Seize the moments of happiness, love and be loved! That is the only reality in the world, all else is folly.

Moments of happiness

Love and be loved, hearts of course. Well where did it begin? On my white page I spread some gesso, some prussian light blue and some naples yellow. I added to it some stenciling with the love post stencil of tcw, using certain parts only with permanent green.

But being myself I need to mess more on that page, so I added some paper collage, random what ever comes first in my hand:

Covered the page with another layer of thin gesso, prussian light blue and naples yellow. In the meanwhile I stencil hearts from love post stencil on an old newspaper page with red iron oxide. When it was dry I teared the hearts out and applied to my page with gel medium. I altered the edge of my torn papers with charcoal and sepia chalk.

Finally I added my text and some more texture with modeling paste through another part of the love post stencil and tadaah:

Sometimes I used only parts of my stencils, like reconstructing a different view, did you ever try it?

I am sharing my work with Art journal journey monthly challenge: moments of happiness.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Moments of happiness

  1. scrappunzzel says:

    beautiful!! je bent lekker op gang met je art journal. 💖💖

  2. StephRS says:

    Great post.

    Art journaling is something I’m looking to take up (I’m a complete novice at the moment). Thanks for sharing the art Journal Journey link – this is something I could definitely get in to 🙂

  3. This is stunniwhat a fantastic spread – this is siply AMAZING!
    Thank you for joining the new theme at Art Journal Journey..such a fab entry!

  4. sorry for missing letters!

  5. Truly is a great post! I really love how you added those paper elements in the background and made them pop with the black around them- They really pull everything together for me- Great quote also- have a lovely Saturday my friend! xo

  6. sparkledaysstudio says:

    Marvelous quote and your journal spread is so 3 dimensions and your paint marks look like stitches. xox

  7. LonettA says:

    Just gorgeous spread! Wonderful quote!

  8. lorraine says:

    love the textured hearts

  9. like the red structure paste especially, I also did some cleaning in my studio this morning, wow was I surprised how fast time went, luckily I found this afternoon some playtime and i must say it was very pleasant creating on a neat desk

    • lerusho says:

      I wish I would be ready, packed out from my old shelves system, built 3 new systems, was beginning to pack in, not ready yet, but on my way, and got one more piece that I need to bring home, I don’t feel my arms anymore, no arting for me for today; but tomorrow is another day, hope to finish and then… 😉

  10. bhduit says:

    Beautiful page!

  11. Ophelia says:

    Gorgeous page!!! Your work is so beautiful!!

  12. Shilpa says:

    beautiful texture and soft colors, love this journal page, Lerusho

  13. Tracy says:

    I love the texture and the green that comes through from the background.

  14. Brilliant quote and fabulous pages to illustrate it!
    oxo

Leave a Reply

