Hundred leafed flower card

For this card I was inspired by an Indian poem written by Nishu Mathur:

A garden of marigolds… orange, yellow and rust,

Bright, soft and rich, touched with golden dust.

Quiet and regal, sun kissed and fair,

Basil-citrus fragrance that mellows the moist air.

A thousand smiling marigolds, a thousand smiling suns,

Sweet nectar, ambrosia, for natures gentle ones.

Isn’t that beautiful…  I loved that poem and so was born that card:

Thinking of you

First I tried to imagine the fragrance of basil-citrus, something soft, so I took my pan pastels, green yellow applied one layer of leaf stencil from TCW and then I chose permanent green and I applied the second layer, that’s my background:

pan pastel stenciling

I altered the edges also with pan pastel. I made some marigolds with Sizzix Bigz 3D fringed flower die, one from orange crepe paper and one from an old book cover that I painted later with dylusion ink. I added a fence embellishment and some more chipboard cuts (text and corners) from Imaginarium designs. I altered the edge of my card with distress ink. And that’s the story of my hundred leafed flowers.

I am sharing my card with Inspiration avenue’s weekly challenge: marigold.

 

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hundred leafed flower card

  1. lovely poem and great cards, love the soft background (really need to get some pan pastels) and lov the flowers especially the one from bookpage.

Leave a Reply

