My blooming garden

 

This week is the first real spring week by us, even warmer then usual, so I decided to put my flower boxes outside. As I have no garden, they sit on my window frame. I bought some nice bulbs planted them and with my patience seems very hard to wait what comes out. So I brainstormed in my art journal:

my garden…

Surrealistic, maybe not, love the contrast.

I was beginning with a layer of ink to colorize some paper: magenta and gold.

Then I added my first flower stencil layer with acrylic, I wanted to have some small flowers, so I cut my own stencil, stupid me from paper (though I would not be able to hand-cut from plastic this small pattern), so nicely had to say good bye to it after I finished.

But as I am a layer girl, I needed to have some extra. So I added some texture and white washed the background:

Now that’s more like me. Satisfied I took one of my favorite flower stencils: the “poppies” took the silhouette and painted the background with acrylics: persian blue and phthalo green. Added the text and outlined with Molotow marker. Tadaah:

Do you have a garden? How does it look like nowadays?

I am sharing my work with Journal 52 weekly prompt.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My blooming garden

  1. Jackie N says:

    Fabulous Ruth! I actually loved every layer!!Especially your handcut stencil one! too bad it was on paper 😦

    • lerusho says:

      Yeah, sometimes I wanna play fast and oops, a simple paper layer is easy to cut with a crafter’s knife, but plastic or film is more difficult, I think I would need to have a cameo or a brother machine, but right now I don’t have a budget for it, it’s in my planning anyway 🙂

  2. j.ajabad says:

    Goregous. I love the stenciled flowers inside the bulbs. I’m digging the texture, LOL! How did you do that?

    • lerusho says:

      The first layer is ink and on top of the ink layer came a stenciled acrylic, finally I covered it with gesso. The other part of texture is a simple flower packaging can buy it by any paper retailer!

  3. love the magenta and gold background, it really pops, I think it would have worked very well with the dark background. Love the texture.

  4. Linda B says:

    Your process is amazing. I love the darker colors you ended up with… fabulous!!!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Ophelia says:

    Gosh, this is really amazing!! Absolutely love your work!!

Leave a Reply

