Vintage

Are you ready to take a vintage journey with The Tweedles? So just buckle up!

soul… mate… forever

Cute little twins don’t they look lovely? I colored them in vintage style, wanted them to look like an old photo, then I placed them on an altered tag, added embellishments: self rusted and from Tim Holtz’s ephemera pack.

But back in time, first I made a paper collage, that I colorized with distress inks: vintage photo, old paper and rusty hinge, and softly white washed.

paper collage

Great, but somehow I still missed the touch, I wanted more vintage. So I took the antiquities stencil and first I stenciled using red iron oxide, then I twisted my stencil and used yellow iron oxide (I love those colors they have sort of an oldie-goldie look).

background

It was pretty messy, and enough layers, so I thought I have my perfect background.

I stamped my Tweedles from Stampotique Originals and colorized them in vintage style, I distressed the edges of both my tag and my journal page. I added some self rusted embellishments, the words: soul, mate and forever as usually twins are soul mates forever. And tadaah:

Vintage

Thanks for joining me for this vintage journey! I am sharing it with Stampotique designer’s challenge: vintage.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Vintage

  1. Very cool Ruth- I love those colors also! Really like your elements and your wording too- made me giggle this morn! Have a lovely creative day! “)

  2. Kay Wallace says:

    Perfect backdrop (a lot of work, I notice) and color palette for this vintage journal page, Ruth! I love your rusty embellishments, especially those safety pins. So glad to see you again at the Stampotique Designers’ Challenge!

  3. j.ajabad says:

    They are adorable! I love Tim Holtz products. Is the empherma pack new?

    • lerusho says:

      The ephemera packs were available after the CHA, you can get it in 2 versions: thrift shop and expedition, most of the art & craft suppliers are selling them.

  4. Sue The Iron says:

    This is beautiful, I love your background. Thanks so much for sharing with us at Stampotique Designers Challenge. Sue xx

  5. Tanja says:

    I love the Tweedles and your project is so cool! Thanks for joining us at SDC 140!
    Tanja

  6. oooh i love the Tweedles! and you gave them the perfect background, wow!
    thanks you joining our Stampotique Designer challenge :)))
    xx
    france

    ps: thank you so much for having my button on your blog. i appreciate it… a lot! xx

  7. dutchstamptramp says:

    Love your entry for the vintage challenge! Thanks for joining this Stampotique DC

  8. Arwen says:

    Very cool page Ruth!!
    Thanks for joining us at Stampotique DC 🙂

    xx Arwen

  9. Kim Howard says:

    Love the texture on your background and tweedle dee twins. Thanks for joining us at Stampotique Designer’s Challenge.

Leave a Reply

