Mixed media butterfly

Today I was playing on canvas, I really felt like getting free and do something for the fun. So I just kept going, wherever it takes me. Step by step. First I had a few pieces of old newspapers hanging on my table (yeah there’s always something hanging on my table, I am not the best in organizing). I love acrylics, so I took my bucket of paints and grabbed two colors (turquoise and permanent green).

first layer

It seemed to me so “brave”, and I am not such a “brave” girl, so I had the feeling that I have to mess with it. I applied some shades and shadows.

second layer

I was still missing something, you know when you look at it from a distance… and that inner voice says add me:

third layer

It’s natural pigment: umber, mixed with beeswax. I thought it’s enough for my background. And then I was beginning to build my image on modeling paste with buttons.

mixed media butterfly

I colored my butterfly with black, silver and copper. I applied a layer of beeswax on the buttons to give them some shine and finally I added some shadows. Taddah!

I loved my day and playing with my canvas. What do you do to relax?

I am adding my butterfly to Inspiration avenue’s weekly challenge: all about buttons.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Mixed media butterfly

  1. your piece is gorgeous!
    thanks for stopping by to my blog during the “Lost Coast designs” and “Stencil Girl” blog hop!
    all your comments made my day!
    Bibiana (DTM lost coast designs)

  2. BJ says:

    Gorgeous canvas and the step by photos are great. BJ#70

  3. What great textures you have created, the buttons make a great butterfly
    .Morag # 38

  4. Ruth, How beautiful! Your page makes me yearn for Spring even more- I can almost smell fresh cut grass!! xo

  5. Jez Eden says:

    Yes, I think you were brave, and what a great result. Your process is so interesting, I’ve never seen anyone invent such an unusual technique and the result is amazingly great. Lovely button butterfly.

  6. j.ajabad says:

    Goregous! The texture has an almost fabric appearance to it! πŸ˜€

  7. Diane says:

    Love the colors you chose. Have not worked with bees wax but love how you used it in the background. Have not thought of painting over buttons; the butterfly is simply awesome the way you created it.

  8. Lou Anne says:

    I love to see people’s artwork with the various steps photographed. The colors and textures are really striking!

  9. Ruth says:

    that is one beautiful work….!!

  10. Annette G says:

    ooooh yes a day full of fun and creativity, so fab. Love the results. Happy PPF, Annette x

    http://nettysartadventures.blogspot.co.uk/

  11. happytiler says:

    Beautiful color and texture…very nice process! So free and creative!

    Hug Giggles

  12. karine says:

    Love the textures and colors you used! The result is very beautiful!

  13. Beautiful button butterfly. I like the way you created the background and gave depth by adding in the ink stamps and beeswax, works wonderful.Very nice piece.

    Annabelle

  14. kookymakes says:

    Great to see your process and the beeswax is a lovely shiny addition. Your piece has such a lot of depth and texture.

  15. Saskia says:

    Beautiful and unique work!

    Smiles, Saskia πŸ™‚

  16. I also like using text sheets for backgrounds! so interesting to see the progress steps. Thanks for sharing! Happy WOYWW!
    Hugs, peggy aplSEEDS @3

  17. Lovely canvas, great background and fun butterfly with the buttons.

Leave a Reply

