Inner child art challenge

As a child I remember I was falling in love with a technique that we learnt at our art class. For a whole year I kept producing paintings with it, and I called them rainbow paintings. So today I decided to let it go, go back to my child, let the inner child come out to play. Why not? And the result:

my inner child rainbow world

Now you know what I am talking about, don’t you? I remember that our teacher brought a whole palette of gouache colors and we needed to paint a sort of a collage with it on the paper and when it was dry we got a thick black paint to cover it, and before it dried we could etch a picture in it, so the colorful collage came through. That’s what I did today.

I covered the page first with a layer of white gesso. Then I applied random colors on it from my acrylic paints. That was my first layer:

color collage

Pretty colorful, without any meaning, no fear, thick and who cares even if it gets mixed. Then I covered this layer with black gesso. I took a chopstick  and I was beginning to draw into the black gesso, so all those colors will peep through. I loved drawing houses and flowers as a child, so I made a landscape here.

The sun, a cloud and the little house

Some flowers with a bigger house

What did you like to create when you were a child? Did you have a favorite technique? What would you do if you let the inner child free for a day?

I am sharing my inner child spread with Inspiration Avenue’s weekly challenge.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inner child art challenge

  1. Deann says:

    Fabulous! You have launched me back to childhood with your wonderful scratch pictures…thanks for the memory rewind.

  2. j.ajabad says:

    I remember doing that as a kid.

  3. Reblogged this on Haven of Inspiration and commented:
    I went to Inspiration Avenue’s site. They have many wonderful ideas!!!!! Thank you for the lead!!!!!

  4. papict says:

    Fun! I have fond memories of doing the wax crayon version of this throughout my childhood. I have not done this in a long time but I do, however, finger paint pretty frequently.

  5. Catherine says:

    Wow I remember doing this too! Fabulous!

  6. Daire says:

    I used to love doing this – I’d totally forgotten about it! I used to really love spirograph when I was a kid too – I might have to dig out my old set later!

Leave a Reply

