Altered Ancestors art journal

Inspiration Avenue’s weekly challengeAltered Ancestors – Actual or Instant.

As my family archive is 1000 of miles away from me I chose an “instant” free image. Well my beloved grandmother use to make her living from sewing dresses for women. From my childhood I remember the fabrics with big flower prints (just don’t remind my age please). And I remember the old sewing machines, you know the type that you need to pedal with the leg… Singer of course… I also remember the big dinning table that was turned to a cutting table in the middle of the week. I don’t really know how much she enjoyed it, but in my eyes she was a hero being able to convert a fabric to a beautiful dress. I lost her in the early 90’s and I miss her a lot. So Bobeleh that’s for you (ikh wal miss ‘du oyf eybik…):

Women! Be beautiful.

acrylic, permanent marker, altered photo, disstress ink vintage photo, junk yard findings (memories).

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Art Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Altered Ancestors art journal

  1. Deann says:

    A lovely journal page.

  2. Maggie says:

    It’s wonderful to have memories like that. A beautiful tribute to your grandmother ~ I know she must have made a lot of women beautiful with her creations!

  3. Lou Anne says:

    What a lovely tribute to your grandmother! I admire people who can craft a piece of clothing-it’s a true art form. Thank you for sharing your journal page with us this week at IA. It’s always a joy to see your work.

  4. Jez Eden says:

    A lovely look back at your Grandmother’s life, and the colours are perfect to give the feel of history. Her story could be my mother’s story, she worked so hard on her sewing machine. And I learnt to sew on her Singer treadle machine. So your Altered Ancestor picture brought a lot of happy memories back to me this afternoon – thank you.

    • lerusho says:

      My mother also sewed but only for herself. she also has one of my granny’s old machine. I wish I could have it, but shipping cost so much, but each time I visit I need to make sure that it’s still there, I keep dreaming about it 🙂

  5. Karine says:

    Beautiful art journal page! I also love your story about your grandmother 🙂

  6. carolyndube says:

    What a wonderful art journal page! Love the heart in the story behind it!

  7. Aloquin says:

    That is beautiful in meaning and execution. Were she here today, your grandmother would adore it. I’m from Art Journal Every Day, and I just wanted to say that I love the feel of your page. She must have meant a great deal to you, and you do her honor by creating art in her memory.

Leave a Reply

