Very Gelli Ornament with tutorial

Are you getting ready for the holidays? Did you think about decorating? Well, here is a fun project, simple (as everyone is pretty busy), you can even keep the kids occupied with it for a while. Meet the very gelli snowmen!

ready snowmen

And now step by step: I made a print with light blue and white using the circles-in-lines stencil from Julie Fei-Fan Balzer. But if you have a round gelli plate you can make of course round prints… think about what a nice size of snowman you get then!

circles-in-lines print

I cut some random circles out from my print:

cut circles

I loved the imperfect shapes, if you think about making the snowman in real, you’ll never get a perfect round shape, do you? I took a thicker white satin ribbon and I glued the body on it:

the body

Next I chose pairs of googly eyes, and glued on the head:

I used black acrylic to apply the mouth and the buttons with cotton bud.

mouth and buttons

How does the snowman look like without his red nose, so I took an old gelli print with reddish tint and I teared a small piece for the nose:

nose

And the hat, let’s top it with a top hat of course, I used 200 g black cardboard and a red-white rope:

top hat

We need still some arms, so I decided to use black foam:

arms

And tadaah, ready to hang!

Very gelli holidays everyone!

Materials:

  • Gelli arts printing plate 8’x10′
  • Circles-in-lines stencil
  • Golden artist acrylics titanium white and light blue
  • White satin ribbon
  • Black acrylics
  • Googly eyes
  • Black cardboard
  • Red and white holidays rope
  • Black foam
  • Scissors, glue, cotton bud.

Have fun! 

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Gelli Arts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Very Gelli Ornament with tutorial

  1. Carolyn Dube says:

    Super great snowmen! What a great holiday project! Thanks for sharing with the party!

  2. maryk says:

    your snowmen are really great. love the wonky circles for this. tfs

Leave a Reply

