Fraction – gelli-printed on canvas mixed media

Fraction is a collaboration work with my son. In their maths period they study fractions, so how can it be better practiced than through art (well what can you expect from an artist-mother)… So that’s my “educational” piece:

Fraction

It started out on a canvas, that I printed with yellow iron oxide. I had an orange-white print made with Jaime Echt’s cosmic swirl stencil on rice paper:

cosmic swirls

Sorry for the different quality, but the canvas is a photo, and the swirl is a scan, but that’s the original used. So we were cutting it up to practice how is it possible to divide a rectangle, and than we played on the original yellow print to arrange the pieces. The rice paper nicely melted on the canvas with the Golden extra heavy gel (matte).

I painted the lines and the numbers to emphasis the fact that we are talking about fractions!

Then we had a pancake break, so much fun to have my son around when I create, let’s say sweet fun! Of course we had to play with the pancakes as well and cut them in fractions, sorry I didn’t picture it, believe me it was more messy then my table after gelli printing (hehe…)

By the way it gave me another idea, I pulled out Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s shattered circles stencil and tadah…

Shattered circles

Doesn’t they look like fractured pancakes? Just use your imagination! I cut the shattered pancakes (sorry Julie) and there they went on different spots. Finally I closed my circle fraction in with wire. The wire swirls came on the full ones for my son’s request.

Fraction with shattered pancakes and wire

So that’s the short story of Fraction mixed media gelli print on canvas. Hope you enjoyed, because we had a lot of fun.

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Gelli Arts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Fraction – gelli-printed on canvas mixed media

  1. How neat to incorporate your son’s homework in your art, have to remember that one, still a couple of years to go before homework here. Did he get it after this fun packed afternoon?

    • lerusho says:

      Oh yeah, that was the best fun, and I hope that some ideas stayed in his head about the fractions as well, art he loves, maths as well, and I find it difficult to explain things without creating something out of it. So here it goes, blame the mother if the child doodles too much in his books! Hehe… xxx Ruth

  2. Carolyn Dube says:

    Wonderful way to art with your son! And you got such a great piece of art too! Thanks for sharing with the party!

  3. Michelle says:

    Very cool – love the colours and patterns!

  4. M says:

    That’s so awesome that you brought art and fractions together into one to help out your son! Some kids are more visual thinkers than what schools generally support, so it’s great when mom can step in and help 🙂

  5. Rhonda H. says:

    Great idea! What fun to combine art and math!

  6. Lou Anne says:

    It’s great that you collaborated with your son! I love what you created. I’m sorry I couldn’t see the fractured pancakes but glad to have missed the sticky mess! I used to be an elementary school teacher and this would have been an awesome way to combine math and, more importantly, art.

  7. Maggie says:

    Oh this does look like it was so much fun to create! I especially love the fractured pancakes!

Leave a Reply

