Ian Wright

And one more guest of Papier Hier 2012 was Ian Wright. He was born in England and has studied Graphic Design in London. His career as an illustrator covers four decades, the late 70’s in which he illustrated album covers, the 80 in which was known for his black and white portraits published weekly New Musical Express. He combined elements from fashion and music, and he has worked with many celebrities.

His creative approach makes his work always fresh and innovative. By trying and sometimes even “abusing” new technologies he ends up with amazing results. For example, he used copy machines, in which he swapped color toners and then he overlapped color layers of different artworks.

Wright says about his works: “Playfulness is important to me; I’m motivated by trying to push my work somewhere new. Somewhere else. Really, I’m interested in what could be. I sometimes reach that point by making mistakes and generally misusing technology and I often arrive at solutions by accident. I prefer to let the materials I use influence the outcome. I’m looking forward to what happens next.

More works to see at: www.mrianwright.co.uk

About lerusho

I am obsessed with experimenting, using my fantasy and creating new and unique visions. The challenges are endless and that gives me real inspiration.
This entry was posted in Illustrations, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

